View an article regarding the reinforcement of this bridge.
Prominently located just north of St. Germain Street in St. Cloud, this large deck truss bridge is an iconic and historic structure.
The first bridge at this location consisted of a four span wooden deck truss, set onto the same stone substructures. By 1892, the bridge had become too light for traffic and was replaced by a four span Pratt Through Truss.

Historic photo of the bridge
This new structure contained 4 spans of 9-panel pin connected Pratt Deck Truss. These lightweight spans were set onto stone masonry substructures.
In 1922, the bridge would receive its only major alteration. A third truss line was built between the existing trusses, and a new deck added.
It is believed this extra bracing was fabricated specifically for this bridge. Further alteration occurred in 1944, when the western pier was encased in concrete.

Blueprint showing the reinforcement of a typical span
Overall, the bridge appears to be in fair condition. Some deterioration of the superstructure was noted in 2022.
The author has ranked the bridge as regionally significant, because of the age and the unique modifications, which add to the historic value of this structure.
The photo above is looking east from a new walkway underneath the bridge. The photo below shows details of the reinforcement.
Upstream | Soo Line Bridge at Blanchard |
Downstream | Camden Place Rail Bridge |